Continuing Education Requirements / Maintaining Your Credential

Once you become certified, you will need to maintain certification status. As part of the Continuing Certification Requirements program, you will need to earn 60 PDUs per three-year cycle to maintain your credential.

  Credential No. of PDUs required for each 3-year cycle
  PMP   60
  PgMP   60
  PMI-SP   30 PDUs in specialized area of project scheduling
  PMI-RMP           30 PDUs in specialized area of project risk management        
  CAPM   No PDUs. Re-exam at end of cycle

There are a variety of ways to meet the continuing education requirements, and PMI has 6 categories for PDUs.

To learn more about the program, review the PMP Handbook. It explains how to earn and claim PDUs and how to renew your certification.

    PMP Handbook

Earning PDUs

Remember, if you are maintaing a PMP credential, contributing project management articles are a fun and free way to earn Professional Development Units (PDUs). Project management articles count as PDUs under Category D Creating New Project Management Knowledge (i.e., authoring a professional article).

To contribute an article, content or white paper for publication on this site, send me an email at:

For more ideas on creative and fun ways to earn free PDUs, read Why Are You Paying for PDUs?

Additional Information

   PDUs to Go offers PDU opportunities. (formerly Ganthead) also offers PDU opportunities.